Resolutions

Has any one ever asked you this;  "What’s your New Years Resolution?"     Unless you live in a cave and never venture past the rock three feet from the opening, you have.  What do you say?  Do you make resolutions?
 
I don’t make New Years Resolutions.  It’s not that I think it unwise; to the contrary I believe that resolutions, if made in earnest, with sensibility and honest forethought, can be beneficial.  To that end; for years I have resolved to: 1-Lose weight, 2- Eat more nutritious foods, 3-Exercise more diligently, 4- Lose more weight, 5- Spend less, 6- spend more quality time with those I love (and even some I don’t), 7- lose more weight etc.  Attainable goals all…just not for me.
 
Why?  I’ll tell you why …
 
We have many traditions in my family that are very important to me.  I want my children to have wonderful memories of growing up surrounded by loved ones, not just at holiday time, but all year through.  Our first tradition is of course, January 1st (preceeded by December 31st which is game night that drags into game day …) we all gather to play more games and eat the remaining holiday fare, break the traditional gingerbread house, eat the candy not only from the stockings, but any undistributed homemade candy, breads, dips, (you name it).  Therein lies the dilemma; when faced with so much delicious food, ok, chocolate, how can I resist?  It wouldn’t be right to just throw it all away!  We all know about the starving children in third world countries that, "Would just love to have that lovely stalk of celery!" (something I have NEVER said to my kids by the way).  However, I have little self-control when the choice is between a celery stick and a chocolate (anything)  A sad commentary that on the very first new day of the year I have already defeated at least three of my said resolutions.  Obviously no weight lost yet, nutritious food … some.  It did require a short stroll through the house to the refrigerator so I will count that as exercise, still heavy on the thighs, most stores are closed so I haven’t had the opportunity to spend much … yet.  Will count that as a victory as well.  Oh, who am I kidding?  Only myself and not very convincingly at that!  So I choose not to make New Years Resolutions.  Instead, I have chosen to focus my life in ways that enrich, enhance, and bring joy not only to me, but others as well.  I call these "Life Goals".  A Life Goal means just that, it might take my whole life but the reward is a feeling of success, not failure.
 
For example:
 
I love to read.  For every novel I read, I also choose a historical or biographical book.  I enjoy baking with my kids.  For every familiar recipe we choose, we also like to try something new.  For every ‘splurge’ item I buy, I tuck a small amount away for someone else’s rainy day.  For every question I am asked I try to find an answer, (which sometimes translates into, "I am totally stumped."  When we make treats we remember to share them with our elderly, (often lonely), neighbors.  Eliminating the obvious has forced me to reach further into the far recesses of my brain and find what really matters.  It won’t matter when I die if I weighed 80 pounds or 800 pounds, what will matter is the legacy that has been left for my children and their children after that.  So go ahead, set goals for yourself that won’t leave a bitter taste of failure in your mouth, but really, chocolate is much better for you in the long run.  
 
My wish for you this New Year?  May you find happiness on your trail of life’s successes and perseverance towards your own goals and dreams.    Hey, that kindof sounds like a fortune cookie … a new career for me perhaps?
 
DREAM BIG       ALWAYS HAVE HOPE       SKIP      PLAY IN PUDDLES     
 
        LOVE YOURSELF      GIVE OF YOURSELF      SMILE     
 
             SHARE YOUR COOKIES       SING LOUD     
 
LAUGH UNTIL YOU CRY       SAY, " I LOVE YOU" AT LEAST ONCE A DAY
 
LEAVE NOTES OF ENCOURAGEMENT FOR OTHERS TO FIND      BE GENUINE      
 
                    LIVE LIKE THERE IS NO TOMORROW
Leave a Reply

