An email from Amy

Hi, All.

I just wanted to hollar about a book I am reading that I just love. Many of you may know I have been studying health issues for a while, and with my job, I have had a lot of concern about America’s health problems. That is the bulk of our job- visiting sick, people. I have felt for a long time that I’ve known what most of the problem is but never had any real way of proving it or putting it into words, or backing my thoughts up with real evidence. Well, somebody else put it into words for me and has the evidence to back it up, and it makes great sense. The studies are out there. This book is written by a firefighter/triathlete from Texas whose father is a cardiologist. He has done experiments with his fire crews, friends and other people with food and eating habits (as his father has done with many of his diseased heart patients) and the results are stunning. It’s so exciting. I want everyone to read this book. I know not all of you will care to, but if you ever find yourself told by a doctor that you have an auto-immune disease, or some other disease, or that you should take medication for the rest of your life, you may find a reason to care, all of a sudden. I wish I could convince you all of the dangerous numbers of diabetic, seizure, stroke, and heart patients that we go on, to name a few, many of them on a list of meds as long as my arm…….and not getting better……..when they could be!!!  

I started eating differently about 5 weeks ago and it has been really fun. There are so many recipes and fun foods to combine that I don’t even miss anything that I "gave up". Tonight I made a meal for the firefighters and they loved it. All of them thanked me for the really thoughtful and fun meal. It was all homemade and fresh- cilantro lime hummus with protabello spinach mushroom burgers with sweet potato fries. Even though we got called out a few times and the fries took double the time to cook because our oven is disfunctional, it was worth it.

The book is called Engine 2 Diet by Rip Esselstyn and it is a fun read. You’ll also learn a little about the fire job because lots of things (everything) revolves around food at this job. There are a lot of recipes in the book, as well as simple exercises to do that will keep your blood flowing and brain alert. It is a very easy read and well-written, in my opinion. If any of you have any questions for me, please ask. I won’t bother you again about this but…………..Please read it!!!! And please feel free to send this to your friends and loved ones if you think it might help them. And don’t think I’ll be offended if you think I’m off my rocker….I’ve been accused of that a lot in my lifetime. Ha ha ha- nothing new for me!!

Sincerely,

amy

Leave a Reply

